Log in


The New Jersey School Public Relations Association announces Barbara Wilson, public information officer for the Cherry Hill Public Schools, as their 2022 Communicator of the Year. This annual award recognizes exemplary leadership and commitment to enhanced communication and relationship-building between public schools and the stakeholders they serve. NJSPRA President Lori Perlow, and Maren Smagala, NJSPRA’s 2021 Communicator of the Year, presented Ms. Wilson with the award during the organization’s Annual Meeting on May 25th.

“Barbara exemplifies the best of the best in school communications” notes Perlow.  “She consistently delivers relevant and timely messaging to her district’s audiences based on solid research and aligned to Cherry Hill’s brand.” In his nomination letter, Cherry Hill Public Schools Superintendent of Schools Joseph Meloche confirmed, “Barbara graciously and professionally embraces each day as it unfolds, prepared to amplify the stories of our schools, through the brand of our district. She is structured and calculated in her planning, going from the macro level to the micro level. Events, activities and messaging are planned out for the year and are consistently reviewed and augmented as situations warrant a different level of attention.” 

Barbara Wilson, public information office at the Cherry Hill Public Schools, was nominated for the NJSPRA 2022 Communicator of the Year by Dr. Joseph Meloche, Cherry Hill Superintendent.

Learn more about Barbara here.


The New Jersey School Public Relations Association’s Communicator of the Year award recognizes school communications professionals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and commitment to enhanced communication and relationship-building between public schools and the stakeholders they serve. The award honors those who recognize that communication is a critical component of leadership. Nominees must be current members of NJSPRA in good standing. Prior COTY recipients are not eligible.


The nominee:

  • Demonstrates the use of effective public relations strategies aimed at supporting public education.
  • Has been recognized as an advocate for public education and has earned a reputation as being highly credible with a variety of audiences.
  • Demonstrates exceptional leadership and communication skills.
  • Demonstrates experience and involvement in communicating with diverse audiences.
  • Implements communication strategies that demonstrate a strategic approach and contribute to the betterment of public education.
  • Demonstrates effective personal communication with a wide variety of audiences.
  • Demonstrates ethics and professionalism in communication.
  • Has been recognized as a role model by school communications professionals and other stakeholders as someone whose communication skills and messages have impacted the lives of others.

  • Previous winners are not eligible for nomination.


Nominations for the Communicator of the Year Award may be made by anyone. An individual may submit more than one nomination; however each nomination must include its own, individual set of nomination materials and nomination form.

To nominate someone:

  • Submit application using the digital Official Nomination Form.
  • Include a narrative, no longer than 800 words, outlining how the person or organization has met the award’s criteria.
  • The submission may also include up to 10 pages of supporting documentation including, but not limited to, data demonstrating the nominee’s effectiveness in meeting the award criteria, samples of the nominee’s communications work, measures of effectiveness and letters of support.
  • Watch for the deadline and form to nominate someone for the 2023 honor. There is no fee to nominate for the NJSPRA Communicator of the Year.


2021: Maren Smagala, District Communications Coordinator, North Hunterdon-Voorhees Regional High School District
2020: Dr. Matthew Murphy, Superintendent, Ramsey School District

Follow us


760 Route 46 West #1001
Parsippany, NJ 07054



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software